Skip to main content

Dupont Awards, 1943 - 1982

 Series — Box: 1-18, Folder: 1-530

Scope and Contents

Items in this series are relevant to the Dupont Awards, which were given to Television stations, Radiostations, and commentators who have contributed to the field in their performance on the air. Award winners received $1,000, and most used the money to fund a journalism scholarship. Within this series are correspondence between award winners, judges, the Dupont estate, Washington and Lee University, members of the Federal Communications Commission, public relations firms, and O.W. Riegel, photographs of the award winners and annual awards dinner, publications by the Dupont Awards foundation, and published statements by various awards winners. Some items and subjects of note include a draft of a couple of the physical awards, letters discussing the conclusion of Washington and Lee's Association with the awards in 1967, and some resumes of different journalists and Judges' comments on various radio and television stations. Three scrapbooks are contained wtithin the collection, but are not in folders. They are listed in the appropriate sub-series. Major correspondents and speakers include: O. W. Riegel, FCC Chairman Rosel Hyde, and Jessie Ball Dupont.


  • Event: 1943 - 1982


Language of Materials

All Materials are in English.

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open to research use.


7.5 Linear Feet

Repository Details

Part of the Washington and Lee University, University Library Special Collections and Archives Repository

204 W. Washington St.
Lexington VA 24450 USA